Category: General

Mathias Papenfuß, Brigitte Daurelle and Indars Aščuks re-elected ECSDA Chair and Vice-chairs

Mathias Papenfuß, Brigitte Daurelle and Indars Aščuks re-elected ECSDA Chair and Vice-chairs

Gathering in Bucharest during the European Union Romanian Presidency, for the Annual General Meeting on 16 May 2019, representatives of 40 CSDs elected the Board of Directors and the Executive Committee of the European Central Securities Depositories Association (ECSDA).

ECSDA Board Directors re-elected Mathias Papenfuß (Member of the Executive Board Clearstream Banking) as its Chairman, Brigitte Daurelle (CEO Euroclear Belgium, France and Nederland) and Indars Aščuks (CEO of Nasdaq CSD) as its Vice-Chairs and Georg Zinner (Managing Director of OeKB CSD) as Treasurer of the Association.

Commenting on his re-election, Mathias Papenfuß said:

“I am grateful for the continued trust ECSDA members have expressed by re-electing me as Chairman. I have been involved in ECSDA’s activities since the foundation of the association in the late 1990s and I am convinced that our association is more relevant than ever to help CSDs cope with the accelerating pace of market and technological changes and regulatory pressure.

During the previous three years, we have witnessed an unprecedented level of harmonisation of CSD activities, enhancement of their risk management and operational resilience, based on the pan-European legislation. On this basis, I expect that, during the next three years, we will see further enhancements and modernisation of CSD activities, stronger competition and more work on the efficiency of the European financial market infrastructures contributing to a deeper Capital Market Union.”

At the same meeting, ECSDA Board has established the list of Executive Committee members, as follows:
– Francisco Béjar Nuñez, Iberclear
– Helena Čacká, CSD Prague
– Rui de Matos, Interbolsa
– Mauro Dognini, Monte Titoli
– Dora Matošić, SKDD
– Niels Olsen, VP Securities
– Nikolaos Porfyris, ATHEX CSD
– Boris Tomaž Šnuderl, KDD
– Andrea Tranquillini, ID2S

More information:

Printable version of the press release (PDF)
Pictures of Mathias Papenfuß and of the other ECSDA Executive Officers
List of ECSDA Board members
List of Executive Committee members

ECSDA Board Meeting and Ordinary General Meeting in Bucharest, 16 May 2019
ECSDA welcomes ID2S as a new member

ECSDA welcomes ID2S as a new member

ECSDA is pleased to welcome ID2S as a new member having joined the association.

On Tuesday 27 November, the ECSDA Extraordinary General Meeting has approved ID2S as a new member. ID2S Chief Executive Officer, Andrea Tranquillini, becomes ECSDA new Board member.

The French CSD, has been recently authorized under the EU CSD Regulation to provide central securities depository services for the Negotiable European Commercial Paper (NEU CP) market, and hence was eligible to become an ECSDA member. ID2S was formed by combining the expertise of a telecom company and a developer of an MTF for commercial papers Orange S.A and SETL, as a provider of transactional services based on blockchain technology.

ID2S uses IT technology based on blockchain solutions as operated by SETL. Since recently, it is also connected to T2S and provides ancillary services adapted to NEU CP.

Learn more about ID2S from the interview of Thiebald Cremers, Director Legal and Public Affairs at SETL France, on the occasion of the ECSDA Technology day on 27 November 2018  – Read the full interview




2016 Annual Report now available

2016 Annual Report now available

20 Feb 2017 – The 2016 annual report of the association is available exclusively online and describes the key events that have marked the life of ECSDA in 2016.

You can also obtain an overview of ECSDA members and governing bodies as of 31 December 2016 by visiting the About section.